Napowrimo 1 – City Lovers

Hello Folks, Welcome back

I have been pretty quiet for the past few months whilst working on my novel, so I’m really excited about the challenge of writing a poem each day throughout April for NaPoWriMo 2016.

I’m keen to get back to producing poetry and will share the raw poems here, both to inspire others and to allow myself to feel the vulnerability of letting you see it as it comes. 

This is great writing practice and I encourage other people who feel the creative pulse and want to write and share more poetry to give it a go. If you do join in please let me know and if you wish, share some of your work.

Today’s challenge on the Napowrimo website is to write a lune. This is a sort of English-language haiku. While the haiku is a three-line poem with a 5-7-5 syllable count, the lune is a three-line poem with a 5-3-5 syllable count. You can write a one-lune poem, or write a poem consisting of multiple stanzas of lunes.

City Lovers

I remember when
Love came fast
Like a hurricane,
And nothing mattered
But water
And the distance home.

I remember when
Love lasted
There and back again,
And tripping starlight
Sparked a night
Eager with promise.

Conceived in concrete,
Love remained
While time slipped away
And the city streets
Remembered
That we were lovers.

Lisa Goodwin – 1st April 2016

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Napowrimo 1 – City Lovers

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 1 – “True Colours” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

