NaPoWriMo 5 – What seeds to sow?

I wasn’t inspired by the NaPoWriMo prompt today (it is optional) – then something happened so I wrote it down – it is a bit silly, but inspiration takes many turns and OI quite like it xx

Today, I challenge you to spend some time looking at the names of heirloom plants, and write a poem that takes its inspiration from, or incorporates the name of, one or more of these garden rarities.

What seeds to sow?

When contemplating garden folly,
I must say I am rather sorry
To plough through catalogues of remains
To find heirloom seeds with funny names.
So I have decided to invent my own
Descriptions of the seeds I’ve sown.

Like cauliflower, My Nan’s Beard
Or cucumber for Gastric Fear,
Grand-dad’s Fart, the brussel sprout,
And red pepper, Peter’s Pickled Pout.
I hope you don’t think I’m being silly,
To stuff and roast a Green Man’s Willy.

The Tasteless, Floppy, Frondy Fetish,
My very own variety of lettuce
Is lovely with Red Bulging Balls,
Stinging Tears, and Mother’s Gall,
Pauper’s Gold, cooked on the cob,
And pumpkin Jack, Fat Orange Slob.

But of all the seeds I try to sow,
It seems the only ones that grow
Are Finest Threads of Slugs Delight,
When seedlings vanish overnight.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “NaPoWriMo 5 – What seeds to sow?

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 5 – “Heir Today, Gone With The Wind Tomorrow” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

