NaPoWriMo day 8 – Today I will buy Roses

Day 8 – A gentle prompt of Flowers led to this remembrance of a friend.

Today I Will Buy Roses.

I loved the lily,
You hated the scent,
Said it smelled like a death bed,
You asked me, am I dying?

You gave me the red dress,
The one that draped like rose petals.
I should be more extravagant,
You said, wild and graceful.

You didn’t like the flowers,
They wilted downstairs.
I couldn’t answer,
Yet, I spoke the truth.

You examined your hands,
Life’s line cutting a path on your palm.
We agreed it was all nonsense.
I remember your wildness, your grace.

Today I will buy roses.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “NaPoWriMo day 8 – Today I will buy Roses

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 8 – “Vulnerable Delight” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

